Articles on: FAQs Japan
This article is also available in:

Can I get vegetarian meals in Japan?

Vegetarian diet is uncommon in Japan. Only in large cities are there a few restaurants that offer vegetarian dishes. Host families are also usually not familiar with vegetarian diets. Sauces, broths, and seasonings in Japan almost always have a fish or oyster base. If you wish to avoid this, it is advisable to completely abstain from sauces, broths, and seasonings, or in case of ready-made products in supermarkets to carefully study the ingredients.

In our Mother Nature program, vegetarian diet is possible.

Updated on: 05/01/2024